Shop & offers
Your visit

Commemorating the end of the centenary of World War One

  1. Château de Versailles Spectacles -
  2. Commemorating the end of the centenary of World...

Sunday November 11th 2018 - 3 pm

Royal Opera

Prologue, Devastation, Hope, Contemplation

On November 11th 2018 the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra will give a special concert to mark the The Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra will perform under the baton of Maestro Franz Welser-Möst, who has created a special musical programme entitled Prologue, Devastation, Hope, Contemplation with a strong narrative reflecting on the occasion.

The concert features internationally renowned pianist Yuja Wang who will perform Ravel’s Piano Concerto for the Left Hand, and the Choeur de Radio France and a quartet of international vocal soloists drawn from territories involved in the Great War: the French-Danish soprano Elsa Dreisig, the Russian mezzo Ekaterina Gubanova, the German tenor Daniel Behle and the American bass Ryan Speedo-Green.

The concert will take place at the Royal Opera of Versailles and will feature prominently in the global commemorations of this major and complex historical anniversary. It will be aired live in 46 countries including France (France TV) and Germany (ZDF).


The Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra with Franz Welser-Möst


Ludwig van Beethoven
Missa solemnis, extract: Agnus Dei

Claude Debussy
Nocturnes, extract: Sirènes

Ralph Vaughan Williams
Dona Nobis Pacem, extract: Dirge for Two Veterans

Charles Ives
The Unanswered Question

Maurice Ravel
Concerto pour piano en ré majeur pour la main gauche

Richard Wagner
Crépuscule des Dieux: Marche Funèbre

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Ouverture de la Flûte enchantée

Gustav Holst
Les Planètes, Mars


Yuja Wang Piano
Elsa Dreisig Soprano
Ekaterina Gubanova Mezzo
Daniel Behle Tenor
Ryan Speedo-Green Bass 

Orchestre Philharmonique de Vienne
Chœur de Radio France
Franz Welser-Möst Direction


Yuja Wang

Contact ADOR - Les Amis de l'Opéra Royal

+ 33 (0)1 30 83 70 92